Shri Gangajali Education Society (SGES) with the motto of 'परहितसरिस धर्मनहिंभाईपरपीड़ा सम नहिं अधमाई' means 'Charity, Beneficence and Benevolence are keys to religion whereas afflicting pain on others leads to the path of Sin', evoked the voyage of wisdom in the year 1994 with the belief 'Knowledge is liberation'. The primary aim was to render quality education suitably blended with the ethos of our most ancient culture in the world.

The SGES has been ingrained with the objective of providing Higher Education leading to excellence at the Graduate, Post-Graduate, Doctoral and Post-Doctoral Level to meet regional and national aspirations and development needs of the Country.

The 'Society' is offering a panoptic spectrum of education in Medicine, Engineering, Pharmaceutical, Nursing, Management, Commerce, Arts, Education, Physical Science, Life Science and Humanities so that the Chhattisgarh State may have excellent institutes providing higher and professional learning enhancing equitable access to all segments of society.

The esteemed members of the 'Society' comprises of eminent dignitaries from Industry, Education, Administration, Business and Social Concerns.

The SGES is blessed with the patronization and spiritual guidance from His Holiness Jagadguru Shankaracharya Shri Swami SwaroopanandSaraswati Ji Maharaj.


S. No. Name of the Members Designation
1. Shri I. P. Mishra Chairman
2. Smt. Jaya Mishra President
3. Shri Nishant Tripathi Secretary
4. Shri Deepak Sharma Treasurer
5. Smt. Savita Mishra Executive Member
6. Smt. Monisha Sharma Executive Member
7. Shri Vijay Gupta Executive Member


Shri Shankaracharya Mahavidyalaya is managed by Shri Gangajali Education Society which is headed by the Chairman who also acts as the Chairman of Governing Body. The Governing Body is being constituted under provisions of statute 28 framed under Vishwavidyalaya Adhinium 1973. The Body comprises of representatives of the patron society, nominees of the Hemchand Yadav Vishwavidyalaya, Durg, nominees of the State Government of Chhattisgarh and teacher representatives. Principal of the collegeis the ex-officio member-secretary of the Governing Body.

GOVERNING BODY (w.e.f 22.03.2023 to 21.03.2025)

S. No. Designation Name of the Members
1. Chairman appointed by Foundation Society Shri I. P. Mishra

Two members appointed by Foundation Society

(i) Smt. Jaya Mishra
(ii) Dr. Monisha Sharma

Two Representatives of University

(i) Dr. Ranjana Sharma
(ii) Dr. R.K. Verma
4.  One Donor Elected Smt. Suman Tripathi
5. Nominee of Chhattisgarh Govt. Additional Director, Higher Education
6.  Two Representatives of Teachers (i) Dr. Sandeep Jashwant
(ii) Dr. Vandana Singh
7.  Principal of the College (Ex-Officio Member Secretary) Dr. Archana Jha


The college is affiliated to Hemchand Yadav Vishwavidyalaya, Durg and recognised by the Chhattisgarh Government.